Register for the WLR Fall Symposium 2016: “Modern Federal Judicial Selection”

Wisconsin Law Review Symposium

October 14, 2016

Symposium: Modern Federal Judicial Selection

WLR is proud to present its 2016 Symposium. We look forward to seeing you there. Please find the symposium’s schedule below. The Symposium will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in Room 2260 at the Law School. Please register for the event here.

Symposium Schedule:

Friday, October 14, 2016

8:30-9:00 am       Continental Breakfast

9:00-9:15 am       Welcome

                               Professor Carl Tobias, University of Richmond Law School

                               Associate Dean Susannah Tahk, University of Wisconsin Law School

9:15-10:45 am       Panel 1 – History of Selection

                               Moderator: Professor Carl Tobias

                               Professor Josh Chafetz, Cornell Law School

                               Professor Michael Gerhardt, University of North Carolina School of Law

                               Professor Richard Painter, University of Minnesota Law School

10:45-11:00 am      Break

11:00 am-noon       Keynote Speaker – Attorney Kristine Lucius, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee

Noon-1:30 pm       Lunch

1:30-3:00 pm       Panel 2 – The Role of the Branches of Government

                               Moderator: Professor Asifa Quraishi-Landes,University of Wisconsin Law School

                               Professor David Fontana, George Washington University School of Law

                               Professor Linda Greene,University of Wisconsin Law School

                               Professor Carl Tobias

3:00-3:15       Break

3:15-4:45 pm       Panel 3 – Diversity / Future of Selection

                               Moderator:  Professor Carl Tobias

                               Associate Dean Theresa Beiner, University of Arkansas School of Law

                               Professor Sylvia Lazos, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Law

                               Professor Sara Schiavoni, John Carroll University, Political Science Department

                               Professor Maya Sen, Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government

4:45-5:00 pm       Closing Remarks